The Miriam Hospital Women’s Association holds annual meeting


SEEKONK, Mass. – The Miriam Hospital Women’s Association held its 127th Annual Meeting and awarded its 39th Annual Recognition Award on June 5, at Ledgemont Country Club.

Past President Susan Guerra installed the incoming officers for 2024: Paula Cofone, president; Fredda Sharfstein and Sara Masri, co-vice presidents, Program Development; Amy Page DeBlasio and Ellen Golden, co-vice presidents, Membership; Celia Harms and Barbara Kahn, co-vice presidents, Equipped for Exceptional Care; Marianne Litwin, treasurer; Nancy Riffle, correspondence secretary; and Mary Gagnon, recording secretary.

Rabbi Sarah Mack and Cantor Judith Seplowin led prayers for the 60 people gathered for the meeting. Then Riffle presented a check to Maria Ducharme, president of The Miriam Hospital, for equipment that will be purchased as a result of the Women’s Association’s fundraising efforts, which were doubled this year to pay for an i-STAT Analyzer for the Medical Imaging Department and a BD Prevue II Ultrasound Console for the Vascular Access Team.

Maria Ducharme gave a report on the hospital, including future plans for Building A.

Lenore Leach, the originator of the recognition award, presented this year’s award to Sherry Cohen, a past president.

Cohen was then praised by many speakers, including Rabbi Mack, who noted that Cohen was a leader who has been the Sisterhood president at Temple Beth-El, in Providence, and who started Hineinu, the friendly-visitor program at the temple. Past presidents Robin Engle and Barbara Horovitz Brown spoke about how Cohen has been a role model.

For more information about The Miriam Hospital Women’s Association and how to become a member of this historical organization, email or call 401-793-2520.

BARBARA BROWN is a past president of The Miriam Hospital Women’s Association.