Touro Fraternal Association holds annual meeting, elects new leaders


Touro Fraternal Association’s 2013-14 directors and officers pose for their annual picture. Front row, from left, Nathan Lury, Lester Nathan, Andrew Liss, Michael Smith, Milton Bronstein, Jeffrey Padwa, Barry Schiff and Judah Rosen; second row, from left, Max Guarino, Adam Halpern, Barry Shaw, Jed Brandes, Robert Miller, Steven Waldman, Richard Cohen, Rodney Locke and Alan Lury; third row, from left, Ried Redlich, Andrew Shuster, Manochehr Norparvar, Steven White, Stevan Labush, Jeffrey Davis, Bruce Weisman, Marc Gertsacov, Norman Dinerman and Andrew Lamchick. Arthur Poulten, Michael Levin and Max Dinerman are not pictured.CRANSTON – Touro Fraternal Association, the largest independent Jewish fraternal order in New England, announces the retirement of Robert D. Miller as chairman of the board and Jed R. Brandes as his successor.

Miller, who served as chairman for the past 12 years, announced his retirement at the board’s annual organizational meeting held June 12 at its headquarters at 45 Rolfe Square.

Miller, a Warwick resident, assumes the title of chairman emeritus with full lifetime voting powers on the board.

The board then elected Brandes of Cranston as chairman and Alan Lury of Sharon, Mass., as vice chairman; and re-elected Steven Waldman of North Providence as treasurer; Marc Gertsacov of Cranston as secretary and Judah Rosen of Cranston as chaplain.

Prior to his election, Brandes had served as chairman of Touro’s Student Financial Aid and Communications committees.  Lury also serves as chairman of Touro’s Investment Committee and was Student Financial Aid Committee chairman.  Both men are longtime members of Touro’s board of directors and are past presidents of the association.

At its May 22 association annual meeting, other elections were held. Norman Dinerman, Stevan Labush, Ried Redlich, Barry Shaw, Steven Waldman and Steven White were named to three-year terms on the board of directors; Lester Nathan, president; Jeffrey Padwa, vice president; Andrew Shuster, secretary and Manochehr Norparvar, treasurer, will hold their respective offices for one-year terms as Harmony Lodge officers. Norman Dinerman, president; Andrew Liss, vice president; Richard Cohen, secretary, and Michael Levin, treasurer, will serve one-year terms as Friendship Lodge officers.