Alan Lury elected new board chairman of the Touro Fraternal Association


CRANSTON – Alan Lury, who has served as vice chairman of the Touro Fraternal Association’s board of directors for the past five years, was unanimously elected as the new board chairman at a recent meeting. He succeeded Jed Brandes, who stepped down after serving as chairman for the past five years.

Brandes will remain a board member and assume the title of chairman emeritus.  After four years of preparation, Brandes guided Touro through a successful year-long centennial celebration, which concluded in July. During his term as chairman, he also oversaw the modernization of the organization’s hall and the upgrade of the Tourogram newsletter and website.

Stevan Labush, a longtime board member, was elected the new vice chairman.

Brandes, Chairman Emeritus Bob Miller, Andrew Lamchick, Barry Schiff and Bruce Weisman were installed as board members for three-year terms, while Larry Berman was installed for a two-year term.  Nathan Lury, a 50-year Touro member, retired after 43 years of service as a board member.

The two lodge presidents were installed for another one-year term. Richard Levenson will again lead Harmony Lodge, while Max Guarino continues as head of Friendship Lodge.

Also installed were the other officers of the two lodges.  Harmony Lodge: Steven Hopfenberg, vice president, Stuart Solup, secretary, and David Mossberg, treasurer. Friendship Lodge: Jeffrey Stoloff, vice president, David Altman, secretary, and Peter Silverman, treasurer.

For more information about the Touro Fraternal Association, please go to, email, or call the office, 401-785-6600.

Submitted by the Touro Fraternal Association

Touro Fraternal Association, Lury